• 博客文章
  • 精選
  • 播客
  • 影片

Subscribe for updates

Search

欢迎Mable Jiang加入Multicoin Capital

自两年多前推出Multicoin Capital以来,我们一直在寻求建立一个加密货币原生、具有全球规模的资产管理公司。在过去的12个月里,我们一直在努力思考,为了实现这一愿景,我们究竟应该如何发展公司。我们认为,我们能够采取的最重要的行动是在亚洲发展有意义的存在。

币安在进行闪电式扩张

今年早些时候,我们发表了一篇关于币安和币安币(Binance Coin, $BNB)的分析,这是我们几个月研究和努力的成果。从那以后,我们一直密切关注着这家公司如何以惊人的速度持续增长。对于只是如蜻蜓点水般偶尔关心币安进展的观察人士,可以通过Reid Hoffman在《闪电式扩张》(Blitzscaling)中的这段话来解释币安的快速增长。

对Permaweb的投资

今天,我怀着兴奋的心情宣布我们对Arweave的投资,这种新的协议和区块链引领了一个全新的概念:永久数据存储。Arweave是Permaweb的基础,是Web3堆栈的关键基础。我们与a16z crypto和联合广场风险投资(Union Square Ventures)的朋友们共同进行了此次投资。

交易所即开放金融

人们通常从战略的角度来分析加密货币最大的利润中心——交易所,考虑到交易所对整个加密领域的系统重要性,它的地位尤其重要。考虑到公众可以通过各交易所各自的代币投资于交易所的成功(总部设在美国的交易所、BitMEX和Deribit除外),这一点尤其正确。

欢迎Tony Sheng,以及Multicoin Capital的下一步

今天,我很高兴地宣布,Tony Sheng(盛桐)已加入Multicoin Capital,成为投资团队的负责人。作为谷歌(Google)、AltspaceVR(被微软收购)和Decentraland等公司的产品领导者,他拥有丰富的经验,为公司和整个生态系统带来了以用户为中心的独特视角。他将常驻洛杉矶,负责新交易,并帮助我们现有的投资组合公司。

隐私是特性,而不是产品

隐私是有价值的加密货币的一个特性,而不是产品本身。用户不应该单纯为了实现财务隐私,而在价值较低、安全性较差的加密货币上承担资产负债表风险(例如,出售一些BTC或ETH以获得ZEC)。本文将提出以下观点:像比特币和以太坊这样的通用平台已经为大多数用户提供了足够的隐私保障,因此这部分用户永远不需要以隐私为重点的小众区块链。

世界计算机应该在逻辑上集中

Vitalik将以太坊构想为世界计算机:一个单一的、可组合的、开放的、无许可的状态机,它可以运行信任最小化的代码。尽管以太坊在许多前沿领域——P2P层、确定性状态机、可组合的智能合约等——都取得了突破,但它在其他许多领域则表现平平。这些限制——最明显的是吞吐量低、高延迟、事务费用昂贵,以及在平淡无奇的虚拟机中使用自定义编程语言——这些都在妨碍以太坊实现其最初的承诺。

无限扩展

今天,绝大多数的经济活动是通过公司进行的。公司诞生于15世纪,最初的形式是股份公司。从那时起,资本结构、有限责任和其他参数都发生了变化,但公司作为促进经济活动的渠道的基本前提基本上没有改变。

2019年秋 Multicoin 峰会回顾(视频)

我们的峰会一直有意做出鲜明的主题。我们最近的一次峰会围绕三个主要议题展开讨论:关于加密货币的制度观念、交易所和新银行创新的影响,以及在萧条时期增长的切实证据。你可以在这里看到2019年11月峰会的视频,也可以在我们的Youtube页面上看到此前峰会的视频。

Web3 堆栈,2019年版

一年前,我描述了我当时理解的Web3 堆栈。从那时起,我又学到了很多东西,生态系统也在不断进化,所以我决定更新对 Web3 堆栈的介绍。 2018年版只对Web3 堆栈的一个实例进行了平面可视化,而2019年版的目标是将Web3 堆栈作为一组可互操作的网络来展示。为了实现这一点,我把2019年版分为4张图片(外加一张附加图),先从一个狭窄的视角开始,然后从那里扩展出去。你可以在此下载英文、中文和韩文版的这5张图片。

欢迎Mable Jiang加入Multicoin Capital

自两年多前推出Multicoin Capital以来,我们一直在寻求建立一个加密货币原生、具有全球规模的资产管理公司。在过去的12个月里,我们一直在努力思考,为了实现这一愿景,我们究竟应该如何发展公司。我们认为,我们能够采取的最重要的行动是在亚洲发展有意义的存在。

币安在进行闪电式扩张

今年早些时候,我们发表了一篇关于币安和币安币(Binance Coin, $BNB)的分析,这是我们几个月研究和努力的成果。从那以后,我们一直密切关注着这家公司如何以惊人的速度持续增长。对于只是如蜻蜓点水般偶尔关心币安进展的观察人士,可以通过Reid Hoffman在《闪电式扩张》(Blitzscaling)中的这段话来解释币安的快速增长。

对Permaweb的投资

今天,我怀着兴奋的心情宣布我们对Arweave的投资,这种新的协议和区块链引领了一个全新的概念:永久数据存储。Arweave是Permaweb的基础,是Web3堆栈的关键基础。我们与a16z crypto和联合广场风险投资(Union Square Ventures)的朋友们共同进行了此次投资。

交易所即开放金融

人们通常从战略的角度来分析加密货币最大的利润中心——交易所,考虑到交易所对整个加密领域的系统重要性,它的地位尤其重要。考虑到公众可以通过各交易所各自的代币投资于交易所的成功(总部设在美国的交易所、BitMEX和Deribit除外),这一点尤其正确。

欢迎Tony Sheng,以及Multicoin Capital的下一步

今天,我很高兴地宣布,Tony Sheng(盛桐)已加入Multicoin Capital,成为投资团队的负责人。作为谷歌(Google)、AltspaceVR(被微软收购)和Decentraland等公司的产品领导者,他拥有丰富的经验,为公司和整个生态系统带来了以用户为中心的独特视角。他将常驻洛杉矶,负责新交易,并帮助我们现有的投资组合公司。

隐私是特性,而不是产品

隐私是有价值的加密货币的一个特性,而不是产品本身。用户不应该单纯为了实现财务隐私,而在价值较低、安全性较差的加密货币上承担资产负债表风险(例如,出售一些BTC或ETH以获得ZEC)。本文将提出以下观点:像比特币和以太坊这样的通用平台已经为大多数用户提供了足够的隐私保障,因此这部分用户永远不需要以隐私为重点的小众区块链。

世界计算机应该在逻辑上集中

Vitalik将以太坊构想为世界计算机:一个单一的、可组合的、开放的、无许可的状态机,它可以运行信任最小化的代码。尽管以太坊在许多前沿领域——P2P层、确定性状态机、可组合的智能合约等——都取得了突破,但它在其他许多领域则表现平平。这些限制——最明显的是吞吐量低、高延迟、事务费用昂贵,以及在平淡无奇的虚拟机中使用自定义编程语言——这些都在妨碍以太坊实现其最初的承诺。

• Blog
  • Featured
  • Podcasts
  • Videos

Subscribe for updates

Search

Welcoming Mable Jiang To Multicoin Capital

Since launching Multicoin Capital more than two years ago, we’ve sought to build a crypto-native, global-scale asset management firm. Over the last 12 months, we’ve been thinking hard about how exactly we should grow the firm in order to build towards that vision. We determined that the most important initiative we could undertake was to develop a meaningful presence in Asia.

Binance is Blitzscaling

Earlier this year we published an analysis on Binance and Binance Coin ($BNB), which was the culmination of several months of research and diligence. Since then, we’ve carefully watched as the company has continued to grow at an astonishing pace. To the casual observer, it’s easiest to explain Binance’s rapid growth using Reid Hoffman’s words in Blitzscaling.

Investing In the Permaweb

Today I’m excited to announce our investment in Arweave, a new protocol and blockchain pioneering an entirely new idea: permanent data storage. Arweave is the foundation of the Permaweb, a critical piece of infrastructure in the Web3 stack. We invested alongside our friends at a16z crypto and Union Square Ventures.

Exchanges Are Open Finance

The largest profit centers of crypto—the exchanges—are generally under analyzed from a strategic lens, especially given their systemic importance to the space as a whole. This is especially true given that the public can invest in the success of the exchanges through each exchange’s respective token (with the exceptions of the US-based exchanges, BitMEX, and Deribit).

Welcoming Tony Sheng and The Next Steps For Multicoin Capital

Today I’m excited to announce that Tony Sheng has joined Multicoin Capital as a Principal on the investment team. With deep experience as a product leader at companies like Google, AltspaceVR (acquired by Microsoft), and Decentraland, he brings a unique, user-focused perspective to the firm and the ecosystem as a whole. He’ll be based in Los Angeles, and will be working on new deals and helping our existing portfolio companies.

Privacy Is a Feature, Not a Product

Privacy is a feature of valuable cryptocurrencies, not a product offering in and of itself. Users should not have to take balance sheet risk (e.g. by selling some BTC or ETH for ZEC) on less valuable and less secure cryptocurrencies in order to achieve financial privacy. This essay will argue that general platforms like Bitcoin and Ethereum already offer sufficient privacy guarantees for most users to never need niche privacy-focused blockchains.

The World Computer Should Be Logically Centralized

Vitalik conceived Ethereum as the world computer: a single, composable, open, permissionless state machine that could run trust-minimized code. And while Ethereum was a breakthrough on many fronts—P2P layer, deterministic state machines, composable smart contracts and more—it was lacking in many others.

Infinite Scale

Today, the vast majority of economic activity is conducted via corporations. Corporations were invented in the 1400s, with the first versions manifesting as joint-stock companies. Capital structures, limited liability, and other parameters have evolved since then, but the fundamental premise of the corporation as the conduit to facilitate economic activity remains largely unchanged.

Fall 2019 Multicoin Summit Recap (VIDEOS)

Our summits are deliberately thematic. Our most recent summit centered around three major discussions: the institutional mindset with regard to crypto, the implications of exchange and neo-bank innovation, and tangible evidence of growth during the doldrum. You can see videos from the November 2019 Summit here, and videos from our prior summits on our Youtube page.

The Web3 Stack, 2019 Edition

A year ago, I illustrated [the Web3 stack as I understood it at the time. I have learned more, and the ecosystem has evolved since then, so I decided to update the Web3 stack. Whereas the 2018 Edition was just a flat visualization of a single instance of the Web3 stack, the 2019 Edition aims to show the Web3 stack as a set of interoperable networks. In order to do this, I organized the 2019 Edition into 4 images (plus a bonus), starting from a narrow view, and zooming out from there.

Welcoming Mable Jiang To Multicoin Capital

Since launching Multicoin Capital more than two years ago, we’ve sought to build a crypto-native, global-scale asset management firm. Over the last 12 months, we’ve been thinking hard about how exactly we should grow the firm in order to build towards that vision. We determined that the most important initiative we could undertake was to develop a meaningful presence in Asia.

Binance is Blitzscaling

Earlier this year we published an analysis on Binance and Binance Coin ($BNB), which was the culmination of several months of research and diligence. Since then, we’ve carefully watched as the company has continued to grow at an astonishing pace. To the casual observer, it’s easiest to explain Binance’s rapid growth using Reid Hoffman’s words in Blitzscaling.

Investing In the Permaweb

Today I’m excited to announce our investment in Arweave, a new protocol and blockchain pioneering an entirely new idea: permanent data storage. Arweave is the foundation of the Permaweb, a critical piece of infrastructure in the Web3 stack. We invested alongside our friends at a16z crypto and Union Square Ventures.

Exchanges Are Open Finance

The largest profit centers of crypto—the exchanges—are generally under analyzed from a strategic lens, especially given their systemic importance to the space as a whole. This is especially true given that the public can invest in the success of the exchanges through each exchange’s respective token (with the exceptions of the US-based exchanges, BitMEX, and Deribit).

Welcoming Tony Sheng and The Next Steps For Multicoin Capital

Today I’m excited to announce that Tony Sheng has joined Multicoin Capital as a Principal on the investment team. With deep experience as a product leader at companies like Google, AltspaceVR (acquired by Microsoft), and Decentraland, he brings a unique, user-focused perspective to the firm and the ecosystem as a whole. He’ll be based in Los Angeles, and will be working on new deals and helping our existing portfolio companies.

Privacy Is a Feature, Not a Product

Privacy is a feature of valuable cryptocurrencies, not a product offering in and of itself. Users should not have to take balance sheet risk (e.g. by selling some BTC or ETH for ZEC) on less valuable and less secure cryptocurrencies in order to achieve financial privacy. This essay will argue that general platforms like Bitcoin and Ethereum already offer sufficient privacy guarantees for most users to never need niche privacy-focused blockchains.

The World Computer Should Be Logically Centralized

Vitalik conceived Ethereum as the world computer: a single, composable, open, permissionless state machine that could run trust-minimized code. And while Ethereum was a breakthrough on many fronts—P2P layer, deterministic state machines, composable smart contracts and more—it was lacking in many others.